2018 FIFA World Cup Russia and 2022 World Cup Qatar

miter saw reviewsWell now we know Russia-will be the host for the 2018 FIFA World Cup and Qatar will be the host of the 2022 FIFA World Cup.

For the first time in 44 years, FIFA is announcing two World Cup hosts on one day. FIFA has done it only twice in the past, in 1946 and 1966, but both times, only a single country was bidding for each tournament.

The bidding for the 2018 World Cup began in earnest in January 2009 when FIFA set out to select the hosts of the 2018 and the 2022 FIFA World Cups™ by sending out a circular letter to the member associations eligible to bid (145 for 2018, 198 for 2022) inviting them to express their interest to submit a bid for either or both of these competitions.Associations intending to bid were required to declare their interest in hosting the 2018 and/or 2022 FIFA World Cup by 2 February 2009.

2014 World Cup Brazil

We already know that the next World Cup will take place in South America in 2014, where 1950 host nation Brazil will stage the event for the second time. Back in October 2007, the nation which has lifted the prestigious trophy a record five times won the hosting rights uncontested.

This race, for the 2018 World Cup, has been a thrill from start to finish, that included allegations of corruption; expulsion of Exco members who allegedly sold their votes; two joint bids and a group that went right down to the wire as too close to call.

Bidders for 2018 World Cup

Belgium and the Netherlands, England, Russia, Spain and Portugal bid for the 2018 FIFA World Cup, which was won by Russia.

England: Having won their only FIFA World Cup as hosts in 1966, England are eager to bring football home again and share the nation’s sense of fair play, diversity and hospitality.

Spain/Portugal: The joint bidders from the Iberian Peninsula have guaranteed unbeatable hospitality, comfort and magnificent stadiums bathed in an atmosphere of unparalleled passion.

Russia: Pointing to football as the language that unites all peoples, Russia have put in a compact bid that promises a ‘once-in-a-lifetime’ experience for the watching world.

Netherlands/Belgium: In a joint-Northern European bid, the Netherlands and Belgium are promising a FIFA World Cup that revives the fresh spirit of their EURO 2000 stint as hosts.

Bidders for the 2022 World Cup

Australia, Japan, Korea Republic, Qatar, USA bid for the for the 2022 FIFA World Cup which was won by Qataar.

Australia: A country noted for its friendliness and sporting fervour, Australia’s bid to host the world’s biggest single-sport event promises fun, safety and passion Down Under.

Japan: The East Asian nation is keen to make the FIFA World Cup Truly Universal, inviting the whole of the world to share in the role of hosts.

Qatar: The Qataris, renowned for their deep-rooted sense of hospitality, are aiming to bring unity, understanding and a first-ever FIFA World Cup to the Middle East.

Korea Republic: Co-hosts in 2002 alongside Japan, Korea Republic are hoping to re-capture the magic of those first Asian finals once again.

USA: The United States, hosts in 1994, are promising record-breaking crowds and an opportunity to grow the world’s game even further in one of its final frontiers.

Related Articles